The only perfect thing left for me

Wherefore did I meet you Emma Laura?

Will we ever touch again?

Your image imprinted on my mind

Your lips written into my senses

How your kiss banished reality for a dream

I forget sex to cherish insignificance

A look

A scent

Thrilling just to think of you

I never believed in our forever

And always doubted my effect on you

The knight of pentacles warned me you were occupied

But I wished to slide between the spaces you left empty

Only trading sweet words for sweeter kisses

Never coming down into an average reality

Absorbed in our mystery for only one night

We lose our distance, shortly, before we drift away

Now I make dreams do what the world won’t

I see your mirage at night

Still enchanting my perception

rarely do I run in dreams

Only when it’s backwards

Lost in the reflection of a memory

Without judgement, I would live in this dream free from the sense of its temporality

You revealed to me your luscious rainbow colored pubic hairs

And I ran to you

This time forward

Your eyes bonding me. I stayed for you

Through the witnesses of the passions I keep hidden

I felt the space where your spine connects to touch as our lips replayed that day

And you gasped

And you moaned

From it all

I don’t remember a time alive when I felt as much as in the dream which connected my soul to yours

only eclipsed by the smooches in the dim bar down the block from a poet’s cafe

It must be the only perfect thing left for me

The beautiful image of when we met

Leave a comment