Intoxication

Soak into mi mente calentada

Tu cara, un shot, y cherries rojas bien temblada

Adentro de un cocktail,

Tu memoria.

Intoxicado, a potent spell.

I focus so I do not tell of what is blurred,

What rose from hell,

Mi fantasia.

Your crystal contours round the liquid paradise numbing sights of distances,

Carnivorous concrete,

And dead dreams flowing in and out of overcrowded homeless shelters

Can we forget how we are temporary in moments which never end?

If life loves itself it does abundantly through your lips. Filling me like a tap, spilling over my bubbling head.

I think before my lips touch ice.

Have joy? Or spare your sacrifice?

I choose

And gently reach the end of your toxic medicine

But it won’t alleviate my suffering

No space to hide in your body with my secrets

And use your eyes as a window with a view to see forever

Instead, my peace is intoxication.

It is the delight of just your shadow, the shapes you cast when you ignite with light so bright, but I’d prefer the dark.

You illuminate forgotten corners, but I’d rather forget them

Was lost in a trance.

Enamored with what I couldn’t see

My fantasy,

More important than the grim reality,

Of love.

I could blame the cocktail, or beauty’s classic spell

I blame myself yet find nothing at the bottom of the well

Blackout, wake-up, forgot the source of my love sickness

Superficial depth,

Like what is empty I float at the surface.

And chug this cocktail, too rich to only sip

Leave a comment